Created and maintained by volunteers working with the British Horse Society
Local Information and News
BHS Access News for Dorset.



Dorset is bounded by Devon, Somerset, Wiltshire and Hampshire. It is approximatly 52 miles in length and 36 miles in breadth.
It comprises 248 parishes. Chalkland downs and hills crosses the county. Main rivers: Stour, Frome, Ivel

There are almost 3,000 miles of public rights of way in Dorset, made up of approximately 4,700 footpaths, 1,700 bridleways and 37 byways open to all traffic. (Dorset County Council Statistics)

Dorset County Council Rights of Way Map

Ride-UK Dorset promoted routes

Also see for more trails.

Poole Borough Council (Unitary Authority)


Bournemouth Unitary Authority

Email: Tel: 01202 451451

Dorset County Council

Rights of Way Team
County Hall

Tel: 01305 221000

BHS County Access and Bridleways Officers:  See BHS Dorset Comiittee

Three Counties Bridleways Group: